Tattoos and Suicide

A really well-loved piece about my older brother’s suicide when I was 18, from my first blog site The Rewild West 🙂

THE REWILD WEST

Thanks to L+T for the free-from-prison gift, and to amazing tattooist Lisa Korpos for her great work!

Shine On You Crazy Diamond.  By Pink Floyd, my unquestionable, unequivocal favorite band, a band that didn’t just make music, but high art in the form of compositional sonic landscapes.  The song is a 26 minute, 11 second masterpiece cut into two tracks, the first track and the last track on Wish You Were Here, separated with three other songs in between.  It is the finest album I’ve ever heard.  And Shine On is the definite best “track.”  It says so very much, musically and lyrically.  On a superficial level it is about the band’s original lead singer, guitarist and songwriter, Syd Barrett, who eventually burnt out his mind by doing massive doses of Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) on a daily basis for as many as two years.  “Come on you raver,”…

View original post 1,593 more words

2 thoughts on “Tattoos and Suicide

  1. Jess

    Really a lovely piece. It must have been hard to share – but thank you.

    I came over to say I’ve nominated you for a Liebster award (a bloggy “I like what you do” circle-thing). I just posted about it on my blog, and there’s some info there about how you can take part if you’re interested. If not, well, no worries – I still really enjoy reading your blog 🙂

    https://discombobulated.co.nz/2016/04/10/liebster-award/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

