A Dream Come True

EEEEEEEEEK!! One week ago I officially got OFF PAROLE. I already had my stuff all packed up in my car, so I picked up Batty from her foster a couple miles away and hit the road at 6:30pm. Drove aaaaaaall the way through the night and arrived at my amazing girlfriend Andria‘s work at just after 5am. L.A. to Arcata, CA, Humboldt County, almost 700 miles, in a straight shot through the night.

I’ve been dreaming of living in Humboldt since literally the FIRST DAY I spent here, back in 2007. Little matters of prison and parole and other things got in the way, but I FINALLY MADE IT HAPPEN! Now I’m living literally IN the redwood forest, renting a nice big room on 2 acres of property. Thought I’d have to settle and live in one of the cities first, but NOPE! My darling lady found me this sweet place and I’m absolutely LOVING it up here. This is where I belong, no question. (FFS, get this–they sell delicious vegan cake-things at the COUNTER of even mega-corporate *gas stations* like Chevron!!) Also, I happen to be living about two miles from Headwaters Forest, which was the focal point of the battle to save old-growth redwoods–one of the only UNTOUCHED, virgin old-growth redwood forests left (for the best thing you could possibly read to learn about Headwaters, check out THIS BOOK).

Eastern CA 5-09 105


This place is truly magickal, in countless different ways. No other place like it in the country, and maybe even the planet. And I’m here. I did it. And it’s EVEN BETTER than I’d hoped. The place of my dreams, with the woman of my dreams. I don’t think life in Amerika is ever gonna stop ravaging my soul, but at least now I’m away from the concrete-wasteland nightmare of HelL.A./SoCal. The last 4.5 years have been a seemingly endless series of broken dreams, heartbreaking events and scenarios, and the ceaseless soul-crushing Bad Trip of BureaucraZy’s mad savagery. Dare I hope that it’s FINALLY over? If nothing else, I’m where I belong, with the person I belong (and with whom I’m madly, overwhelmingly in love)–now at least I have a solid foundation to build on.

Humboldt 1-09 053

I so needed this. I deserve this. I’ve worked so hard and waited so long for this. It’s here, I’M here, and I still can’t believe it. Humboldt, Andria, redwoods . . . THIS. This.

3 thoughts on “A Dream Come True

  1. She_Who_Hears

    Good luck with your new adventure.. Hope life trows plenty of positive changes your way.
    Best wishes from Australia.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

